Lactation Credentials

Certified Lactation Specialist (CLS) and 

Certified Lactation Counselor (CLC)

These are two lactation credentials that are very similar to one another.  Both are credentials that are obtained by individuals who have completed 40 hours of lactation education and have passed a written exam.  The Certified Lactation Counselor course currently uses video testing to ensure that participants understand the trademarks of a good breastfeeding latch.  The Certified Lactation Specialist course utilizes multiple photographs on their written exam for this purpose.  Both of these credentials require continuing education.  The courses are offered by private agencies.

For more information about these upcoming CLS and CLC trainings, visit:

International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC)

The next step in lactation credentialing is to become an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant by passing the IBCLC exam.  This exam can be taken by lactation professionals who have completed at least 80 hours of lactation education and 1000 or more hours of practice in lactation support.  The exam to become IBCLC certified is offered only once per year and is very comprehensive! Once the IBCLC certification is granted, there is also lots of continuing education and additional requirements to keep up with best practices.

If you have any questions about these credentials feel free to contact us!

For more information about becoming an IBCLC, visit: